ASH Announces New Executive Committee Members, ASH Members Visit Congress, and more

The Results Are In … ASH Announces 2018 Executive Committee Members

ASH announced the election of four new members to its Executive Committee, the governing body of the organization, for terms beginning after the 2017 ASH Annual Meeting December 9-12, 2017, in Atlanta, GA: Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH, will serve as vice president. Agnes Y.Y. Lee, MD, MSc, and Joseph Mikhael, MD, MEd, will each serve as councillor.

Learn more about the newly elected members below.

Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH

Stephanie J. Lee, MD, MPH, is professor of medicine at the University of Washington Medical Center and lead investigator at the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. Her work focuses on hematopoietic cell transplant (HCT) patients and chronic graft-versus-host disease. In addition to her research projects, Dr. Lee is research director of the Long-Term-Follow-Up Program at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. This program follows more than 5,000 HCT survivors. She has been an ASH member since 1995 and most recently served as ASH Secretary from 2013-2016.

Agnes Y.Y. Lee, MD, MSc

Agnes Y.Y. Lee, MD, MSc, is medical director of the Thrombosis Program and professor of medicine at the University of British Columbia. She has won several prestigious research awards including a New Investigator Award from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Dr. Lee’s primary clinical research interest is in cancer-associated thrombosis and venous thromboembolism in other high-risk populations. She has been an ASH member since 2000 and currently serves on the Awards Committee and Small Meetings Oversight Subcommittee.

Joseph Mikhael, MD, MEd

Joseph Mikhael, MD, MEd, is professor of medicine at the Mayo College of Medicine and associate dean at Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education. He is deputy director of education at the Mayo Clinic Cancer Center and associate medical director in the Department of Development at the Mayo Clinic in Arizona. Dr. Mikhael’s primary research interest is in multiple myeloma and its related conditions (Waldenström macroglobulinemia and amyloidosis). He also pursues research in medical education, benign hematology and pharmacoeconomics. He has received numerous awards for his teaching and research including a Lifetime Educators Award from the Mayo Clinic in Arizona and a Mayo Clinic Proceedings Highly Cited Award. He has been an ASH member since 2000 and currently serves as chair of the Communications Committee.

ASH Bridges Gap with Research Grants

ASH awarded five investigators $150,000 each in the latest round of ASH Bridge Grants for promising basic, translational, and clinical hematology research that cannot be funded by NIH. These grants serve as a one-year bridge for researchers facing gaps in multi-year funding, allowing them to continue their life-saving research and strengthen their NIH grant applications. Since April 2013, ASH has awarded $11.2 million in Bridge Grant support to 92 investigators across 57 institutions.

Projects funded include improving therapy for leukemia, using molecular targeting to treat iron deficiencies, and enhancing the understanding of specific genomic instabilities.

This year’s winners are:

  • John H. Bushweller, PhD, University of Virginia
  • Selina Chen-Kiang, PhD, Weill-Cornell Medicine
  • Fotini Gounari, PhD, DSc, The University of Chicago
  • Akil Merchant, MD, University of Southern California
  • Anupama Narla, MD, Stanford University

Blood Is Searching for Its Next Editor-in-Chief

ASH’s flagship journal Blood is looking for its next Editor-in-Chief. Candidates must have broad and comprehensive knowledge of basic research and clinical investigation in hematology and its subspecialty areas; a distinguished research and publication record; high standing among peers; and demonstrated editing, writing, and reviewing skills. The Blood Editor-in-Chief serves for five years beginning January 1, 2020. Interested ASH members are encouraged to submit a letter of intent or provide the name of a potential candidate.

For a detailed position description and application requirements, visit The nomination deadline is February 28, 2018.

Advocacy Leadership Institute participants convene at ASH headquarters. Front row (seated, L-R): Lee Hilliard, MD; Lori Muffly, MD; Jennifer Green, MD; Paul Shami, MD; Amy Sharma, MD Middle row (L-R): Yvonne Datta, MD; Melanie Fields, MD, MSCI; Alan Rosmarin (Chair), MD; Rebecca Hesterberg, PhD candidate; Sagar Patel, MD; Maria Graca Almeida-Porada, MD, PhD; Courtney Jones, PhD; Bilal Khalid, MD; Kevin Wood, MD Back row (L-R): Amar Kelkar, MD; A. Kyle Mack, MD; Donielle Sliwa, MD, MPH; Georg Aue, MD, PhD; James Blachly, MD; Shannon McKinney-Freeman, PhD; Laura Finn, MD; Frank Passero, MD

ASH Members Visit Congress to Advocate for Hematology

The seventh annual American Society of Hematology (ASH) Advocacy Leadership Institute took place September 27-28, 2017, in Washington, DC.

This two-day workshop is an opportunity for ASH members to learn about legislation and health policy affecting hematology research and practice, while training to become effective advocates. Participants attended sessions at ASH headquarters delivered by guest speakers from the health policy community and visited more than 35 congressional offices to advocate for a $2 billion increase in National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding as well as the Sickle Cell Disease Research, Surveillance, Prevention, and Treatment Act, which will be introduced soon in the Senate.

Honoring the ASH-AMFDP Award Recipients

The Harold Amos Medical Faculty Development Program (AMFDP) held its annual meeting at ASH headquarters October 3-6, 2017, which included a new one-and-a-half-day leadership development program co-sponsored by ASH. A reception honoring the Amos Scholars as well as diversity in academic medicine and research took place at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of African American History and Culture.